Get Adobe Flash player

Northeast Colorado RETAC

Welcome to NCRETAC

Our Mission:

To foster and support cooperative and cost effective regional emergency medical trauma systems development.

Who We Are:

The Northeast Colorado Regional EMS/Trauma Advisory Council is a consortium of 9 counties  EMS and Trauma services in Northeast Colorado; Jackson, Larimer, Weld, Morgan, Logan, Washington, Phillips, Sedgwick and Yuma Counties. Member counties appoint representatives according to guidance by statute and the bylaws of the Northeast Colorado RETAC board.

Board Bylaws


IMG 3587

Board Responsiblities and Duties

Member counties each hold two seats on the Board of Directors, a facility position and a pre-hospital position representing the discipline in their county to which they are appointed. Board members have the responsibility to disseminate information in their respective county and be a liaison between the providers of care in their county toIMG 3594 the Board of Directors, Regional Coordinator and the Colorado Dept. of Public Health & Environment. Regular attendance is required and can be achieved through online attendance as well as physical. 

Appointment Process

People wishing to serve as a board member should contact their respective Board of County Commissioners for consideration of appointment. Qualifications include a working knowledge of the emergency medical and trauma systems (EMTS) statutes, rules and policies for the positions they wish to be appointed. Staggered two year terms expire in July of either an even numbered or odd numbered year.

What is a RETAC?

RETAC stands for Regional EMS/Trauma Advisory Council. RETAC's were formed by Colorado Revised Statute in 2001. The Northeast Colorado RETAC was formed through a coaltion of County Commissioners, Trauma Centers and EMS agencies in the fall/winter of 2000-2001. A series of meetings were held with the elected officials who determined the representative counties. Historical working relationships were considered along with patient flow patterns to determine what would be best for the patient and would provide a continuity of operations with the combining of existing EMS Regional systems development, (High Plains Regional EMS Council) and Trauma Systems Regional Development. (Northeast Colorad ATAC)

The region is just over 17,000 square miles of territory; 5,000 square miles larger than Maryland and 7,000 square miles smaller than Virginia. 

IMG 4394Geographic as well as demographic diversity both challenge and strengthen the region. Counties that have less that one person per square mile to counties that have endured double digit growth in between censuses. The region has one National Park, numerous state parks, two interstate highways and shares common borders with 3 different states.

 The Northeast Colorado RETAC borders encompass 19 EMS transport services; 3 flight services and 16 ground; calls for service range from approximately 50 per year for the smaller services to well over 20,000 per year for the larger services. 13 designated trauma centers 2 designated at a Level II, 4 designated at Level III, and 7 designated at Level IV. In addition there are over 100 EMS non transport services ranging from full time fire, volunteer fire and law enforcement.

 Patient care remains first and foremost in the goals. To make this happen it is important to find mechanisms where Emergency Medical and Trauma Systems providers to work together to meet changes with an organized approach. Each RETAC in the state of Colorado is a liaison between the providers of care and the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment. 


Thank you for stopping by!


Copyright © 2009-2018 Northeast Colorado RETAC
45199 County Road 36 - Fleming, CO 80728 - Phone 970-774-3280